Chapel of Our Lady of Lourdes

  • Historic site and monument
  • Religious heritage
  • Chapel
  • 19th C
Easo 98820 Lifou
Perched on the hill overlooking the Bay of Santal (Sandalwood Bay), the Chapel of Our Lady of Lourdes provides a magnificent viewpoint from which to admire the bay.
The Catholic missionaries who came to evangelize the island of Lifou landed at Easo in April 1858. On the promontory overlooking the bays of Santal and Jinek, they built a small chapel in 1898. Our Lady of Lourdes is celebrated every year on December 8. The chapel is very easily reached by a small, landscaped pedestrian path. From the chapel of Easo, the panorama is unique and in the winter months remember to bring a pair of binoculars to watch the humpback whales come to breed just a few...

Services

Parking nearby

Openings

All year 2024 Open everyday

Location

Chapel of Our Lady of Lourdes
Easo 98820 Lifou

Spoken languages

  • French
Updated on 17 November 2023 at 16:30
by Iles Loyauté Explorer
(Offer identifier : 6193639)
Report mistake
Report mistake
Thanks. Your message has been sent.
Une erreur est survenue lors de l'envoi du formulaire.
Close